This website uses cookies

Our website uses cookies from third parties to help us analyse and improve our services and products. You can opt-out of these cookies if you wish to do so. Read more.

picture

News

Claims from ignored entrepreneurs in private invitations tot tender

vrijdag 8 januari 2016

Sometimes, government institutions issue private invitations to tender for a contract. This means that a select number of interested parties is invited to submit a tender. In such a situation, there is no subsequent public invitation to tender. This tendering procedure is permitted for contracts of which the value does not exceed the European threshold amounts.

In principle, parties not invited to submit a tender are expected to just accept that. The government is free to select parties as it sees fit. This is the prevailing view.

However, there are exceptions, for example if the objective of the invitation is to submit a contract to all the local entrepreneurs with a certain knowledge and expertise. In such case, it is unlawful for one of those entrepreneurs to be left out.

This means that the ignored entrepreneurs can claim compensation. To that end, the relevant entrepreneur will have to convince the court that it would probably have been awarded the contract. If it succeeds in that, it can claim compensation to the amount of the benefit it would have obtained from the contract.

Further information

For additional information please feel free to contact Daniël van Genderen.

Daniël van Genderen

litigation, tender, business and government

+31(0)10 209 27 45
LinkedIn
Download vCard
Send e-mail
Yvonne Jansen

rental (contract and eviction), business and shareholders, property

+31 (0)10 209 27 75 jansen@lvh-advocaten.nl
Ben van Nieuwaal

business and government

+31 (0)10 209 27 45 vannieuwaal@lvh-advocaten.nl
Rob Steenhoek

insolvencies and reorganisation, business and shareholders

+31 (0)10 209 27 52 steenhoek@lvh-advocaten.nl
David Harreman

Enterprise and government, Enterprise and shareholders, National and International Tax Law

+31 (0)10 209 27 77 harreman@lvh-advocaten.nl

More lawyers >
Zoek in artikelen
Bouwe Bos

litigation

+31 (0)10 209 27 63 bos@lvh-advocaten.nl
Madelon van Breemen

International business to business contracting

+31 (0)10 209 27 65 vanbreemen@lvh-advocaten.nl
Daniël van Genderen

litigation, tender, business and government

+31(0)10 209 27 45 vangenderen@lvh-advocaten.nl
Peter de Graaf

insolvencies and reorganisation

+31 (0)10 209 27 52 degraaf@lvh-advocaten.nl
Yvonne Jansen

rental (contract and eviction), business and shareholders, property

+31 (0)10 209 27 75 jansen@lvh-advocaten.nl
David Harreman

Enterprise and government, Enterprise and shareholders, National and International Tax Law

+31 (0)10 209 27 77 harreman@lvh-advocaten.nl
Lisa Kloot

employment Law and employer representation

+31(0)10 209 27 61 kloot@lvh-advocaten.nl
Ben van Nieuwaal

business and government

+31 (0)10 209 27 45 vannieuwaal@lvh-advocaten.nl
Michelle Reevers

aviation, commercial contracts, business and shareholders

+31 (0)10 209 27 75 reevers@lvh-advocaten.nl
Hans Rijntjes

litigation, rental (contract and eviction), collection, business and shareholders

+31 (0)10 209 27 55 rijntjes@lvh-advocaten.nl
Rob Steenhoek

insolvencies and reorganisation, business and shareholders

+31 (0)10 209 27 52 steenhoek@lvh-advocaten.nl
Peter Verheijden

commercial cooperations, mergers and acquisitions, employment law and employer representation 

+31 (0)10 209 27 75 verheijden@lvh-advocaten.nl
Justin de Vries

insolvencies and reorganisation, business and shareholders

+31 (0)10 209 27 52 devries@lvh-advocaten.nl